Barnston Football Club

A brief history

Barnston Football Club was founded at a meeting called on the 17th October 1951 to form a village football team.

John Salmon was appointed President and kindly let them play on his land at Martels. Friendly matches were played at the beginning, they then joined the Chelmsford Combination League and moved ground to Barnston Brook. After several successful years, again moved to a new ground supplied by John Salmon (now Rayfield Close). The team were now playing for the Mid Essex League with the highlight being promoted to the Premier Division and winning the Bardfield Cup.

The late Don Churchill was the secretary through the 1950's and early 60's when the current chairman Bob Tyler took over. In 1967 the ground was sold for building and the present ground was leased, with only £150 the clubhouse was built by club members, giving up Sunday football for a season to build it. Quite a lot of materials were supplied by contractors

constructing the M11, but to obtain these, buildings had to be knocked down and transported to Barnston. Some 9000 bricks were cleaned to re-use for the new clubhouse. The bar was installed, license obtained and now the clubs life line.

Football fortunes increased and intermediate status was obtained from the Essex County FA with the club joining the Essex Olympian Football League in 1989. The Sunday team enjoyed a successful spell winning the Northwest Sunday League Premier Division, three seasons running.

Further Improvements to the club, included larger dressing rooms, new toilets and referees room with shower, dug-outs and pitch barrier, again with club members working hard to construct a car park to enable approximately 70 cars to be parked. A second pitch was leased and is currently being used by our youth team and soccer schools.

Club Honours

Mid Essex Football League

Division one Champions 1964/1965 Division Two Cup Winners 1984/1985 Reserves:- Division five Cup Winners 1984/1985

Essex Saturday Junior Trophy Divisional Winners 1987/1988

Essex Intermediate football league Senior Divisional Three Runners up 1998/1999 Denny King memorial Cup Runners up 1999/2000 Reserve Division Three Champions 1993/1994 Reserve League Cup Runners up 1993/1994 Senior Xl team Sportsmanship award winners 1997/98, 2003/04 Club Sportsmanship Award Winners 2003/04 Reserve Team Sportsmanship Award winners 2004/05 Essex Intermediate League Clubman of the year Bob Tyler 1993/1994 & 2002/2003

Saffron Walden & District Cup

Premier Divisional Cup Winners 1998/99 Division One winners 1998/99 & 2006/07 Premier Divisional Cup Runners up 1999/00

North West Essex Sunday League

Premier Divisional Champions 1990/91,1991/92, 1992/93 Premier Divisional Cup Winners 1991/92, 1992/93 Division One Champions 1989/90 Division Two Runners up 1975/76 Senior Inter Divisional Cup Winners 1990/91, 1991/92, 1992/93 Division One Challenge Cup Winners 1989/90 Division One Challenge Cup Runners up 1975/76 Bert Yabsley Trophy Winners 1990/91 Reserve Challenge Cup Winners 1985/86 Sportsmanship Trophy Division One Winners 1982/83 Sportsmanship Trophy Division Two Winners 1981/82, 1984/85, 1985/86 Club Secretary of the Year Bob Tyler 1982/83

Pope & Smith Sunday League

Division Two Winners 1997/98 Division Two Cup Winners 1997/98

Bishops Stortford, Stansted & District Football League

Reserves:- Sportsmanship Cup Division Three 1997/98

Oaklev Charity Cup

Winners 1985/86, 1987/88, 1989/90, 1990/91, 1991/92

Club Information

The club is currently very active, fielding 7 teams consisting of 2 Saturday teams playing in the Essex Olympian Football League (Senior Division 2 and Reserves Division 3), 1 Sunday Youth under 17 team playing in the Chelmsford Youth League and under 10's, 11's 12's & 15's playing in the Dengie Youth League.

Other Football related activities.

Soccer School for 6 - 14 years Saturday mornings 10 - 11 o'clock at the Barnston AFC ground. The coaches have all passed FA coaching courses and are CRB checked.

Girl's football development days - at irregular intervals, dates to be advised

5 a-side tournament normally held the Last Saturday in June each year.

Other activities

Clubhouse open for Saturday afternoon & evening, Sunday lunch, Monday & Friday Evening (social).

Ladies Darts - Monday evenings (Dunmow & District Ladies Darts League)

Club Officials

Club President: Jerry Wormald

Vice Presidents: S. Beard, P.T.Bell, A. Churchill, D.A. Hills, G. Manning, J. Miles, P. Porter, B.O. Smith, R. Simons, A. Staines, C.R. West, A. Tuttlebury, D.A. Westcott.

Chairman: Bob Tyler

Vice Chairman: Steven Wright

Treasurer: Bob Tyler

First team manager: John Turner

Reserve team manager: Mick Canning

Assistant Res manager: Malcolm Canning

Youth Chairman: John Farrow

Youth development officer & Child Welfare officer: John Farrow

Under 17 manager: Gary Anderson

Under 14 manager: Peter Tomms

Under 11 manager: Luke Farrow

Under 10 manager: Chris Muir

Groundsman: Les Hasler

Management committee: Les Hasler, Glen Braden, Peter Curtis, Bill Fenney, Mick Canning, Les Hasler, John Turner, Trevor Laird


Bob Tyler - 01371 872017 (home) 07712 129459 (mobile)


Barnston AFC, High Easter Road, Barnston,Great Dunmow, Essex, CM6 1LZ